Business Administration Education Guide

Wednesday, March 07, 2007

Fair Labor Standards Act

What is the Fair Labor Standards Act

The Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA") of 1938 is federal legislation of the United States. The FLSA established a national minimum wage, guaranteed time and a half for overtime, and prohibited most employment of minors. The law originally contained a large number of special industry exemptions, many of which were designed to protect traditional pay practices in small, rural businesses.

The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, also known as FLSA provides for minimum standards for both wages and overtime entitlement and creates administrative procedures by which covered work time must be compensated.

Included in the Act are provisions related to child labor, equal pay, and portal-to-portal activities. In addition, the Act exempts specified employees or groups of employees from the application of certain of its provisions.

The Fair Labor Standards Act began applying to employees of the United States Federal Government in 1974. The Act is applied to any person employed by the Government of the United States.

Employee Rights For Teenagers

What is OSHA?

Employee Rights (summary / Easy to understand guide)

What is The Whistleblower Program?

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home